Seawolves head into playoffs on a six game win streak!

This past weekend Stony Brook faced off against the Indiana Tech Warriors. Prior to Saturday night’s game the Seawolves honored the eight graduating seniors from the class of 2017. Those players included, Eddie Osowski, JT Hall, Brian Boser, Michael Cartwright, Alex Miller, Chris Stemke, Antonio Baccari, and Joe Bochichio. The game started off slow for Stony Brook as they trailed 1-0 after the first period. However, the Seawolves found their next gear in the second period, to score 4 unanswered goals coming from Heffernan, Palmieri, Bishop, and Hall. Stony Brook went on to win by a final score of 4-1. The hard hat player of the game went to forward Brendan Calello who had two assists and a strong defensive game.
Sunday’s game had a different start as the Seawolves were able to score on the opening shift when Osowski buried a rebound goal from Bishops point shot. Osowski was able to find the back of the net again, after a beautiful tic-tac-toe play between him, Riccardi, and Murphy to put Stony Brook up 2-0 after the first period. Starting the second period on the power play the Seawolves were able to capitalize when junior forward, Matt Crockett found the back of the net to give Stony Brook a 3-0 lead. Despite the strong play from the Seawolves, the Warriors were able to capitalize on a Seawolves mistake to cut the lead to two. However, forward Brad Riccardi was able to score moments after to regain the momentum for Stony Brook to give them a 4-2 lead after two periods. The Seawolves were able to tally two more goals coming from Stemke and Crockett which would be more than enough to hold on to a 6-3 victory. Next weekend the Seawolves head to Rhode Island in hopes to win its fifth consecutive ESCHL championship before heading to the national championship tournament in Columbus, Ohio starting on March 9th. On behalf of the entire Seawolves organization we would like to thank the fans for the overwhelming support this season and look forward to seeing you back for the 2017-2018 season! Let’s go Seawolves!!